Barbara Dex Voting closed – Montenegro Wins

Barbara Dex Voting 2017

The Eurovision Song Contest and fashion don’t always go hand in hand, as the Barbara Dex award shows. This year the award goes to Montenegro and Slavko Kalezić.

Yesterday closed its voting lines for the Barbara Dex Award. The award is an annual fan vote, in which fans vote for this year’s worst/most memorable Eurovision outfit.

The award was brought to life after the appearance of Belgian singer Barbara Dex, who represented her country in a self-sown, unflattering gown. It is being handed out for the 21st time this year. The Belgian Eurovision website, took over the fan poll last year and called upon each Eurovision fan to help them choose a winner.

Montenegro wins

Montenegro Barbara Dex Award 2017
Slavko from Montenegro fended off stiff competition from the Latvian and Czech contestants according to (photo sources; Gettyimages & Oiktoimes)

After counting all the votes, crowned the 2017 contestant from Montenegro, 32-year-old Slavko Kalezić as this year’s winner. He received most votes, ahead of Triana Park (Latvia) and Martina Bárta from the Czech Republic. The full results are yet to be disclosed.

The singer’s see-through black top, leggings, skirt and trademark braid were all part of Slavko’s presentation for his entry Space. The fan favourite failed to qualify for the grand final, which concluded with Portugal crowned as winner last Saturday. Watch his performance below:

Winners of the Barbara Dex Award have included Verka Serduchka (Ukraine), Trijntje Oosterhuis (The Netherlands), Lydia (Spain) and last year’s Croatian singer Nina KraljićAn overview of all Barbara Dex Award winners can be found here.

Response and upcoming book

Unlike most winners, Slavko has reacted to the news of winning the award and like a true sport, he’s been extremely positive over the experience. The singer has also confirmed he’s going to write a book about his Eurovision experience in the near future.

Let us know what you think of the result? Did Slavko deserve to win the award or was there worse competition. Comment below.


Leave a Reply