2017 Eurovision Song Contest with 43 competing nations

Popcorker Eurovision 2017

Jamala Ukraine 2016 Eurovision winner

It’s a record breaking number for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest!

Eurovision have confirmed the participants for its 62nd European song competition in a new video. 43 competing countries have been confirmed, making 2017 the largest competition since 2011.

It’s the news we’d been dying to hear! Its supervisor, Jan Ola Sand, also confirmed Australia are in. After their successful show last year with Dami Im, SBS received an invitation for the third time in a row. BUT Australia’s participation place is far from secure.

In the video, Sand explained there are no immediate plans of securing Australia’s place in the competition. This would also be the case for any other future associate members. He wouldn’t rule out the possibility however for others to be invited to the competition. A slight modification in the rules were recently announced by the EBU regarding associate members.

So Australia are in, who else joins the party? Already confirmed were Portugal but also Romania. Romania were forced to withdraw from the competition last year at the very last minute. All EBU services were shut down immediately as a result of longstanding debts to the organisation. Reports over the summer suggested Balkan country Bosnia and Herzegovina were facing a similar issue. The country opted to withdraw this year. Sand however hopes to see them back next year.

Confirmed countries taking part are:

Albania, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, FYR Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland.

and the 2017 Eurovision finalists;

France, Germany, Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom and last year’s winner Ukraine.

The Eurovision Song Contest is being held in Kiev, Ukraine thanks to Jamala’s win. The live shows are taking place on Tuesday 9th May (First Semi-Final), Thursday 11th May (Second Semi-Final), and the Grand Final on Saturday 13th May. The venue chosen for all three events is the International Exhibition Centre.

So much excitement already. Who will you be rooting for this year? Let us know your thoughts in the comment box.

Check out the full announcement below:


Leave a Reply